Troy Dorchester, Kelly Sutherland, Kurt Bensmiller or John Walters are all happy they they made it to the Dash For Cash on the final night of the 39th annual Grande Prairie Stompede.

At about 9:30 p.m. tonight one of them will be REAL happy.

the first leg of the Sierra Cup series presented by GMC where the winner of thefinal will receive a $25,000.00 winner’s cheque, a new GMC Truck, and the 2016 Grande Prairie Stompede Championship.

Dorchester, driving the Lafarge Canada Ltd./PureChem Services outfit, qualified for Sunday’s final in first place overall with a four-day combined time of 5:08.71 and will receive the Ralph Vigen Memorial Award for having the best aggregate time.

Sutherland moved up into second place overall, 2.55 seconds behind the aggregate winner Dorchester, with Bensmiller holding on to third place overall and Walters grabbing the fourth and final place in Sunday’s final.

Defending Grande Prairie Stompede champion Obrey Motowylo missed out of the final four, finishing fifth overall and missing the championship final by just 8/100th of a second. Day 3 aggregate leader Jason Glass received a five second penalty for knocking over a barrel and missed the championship final by just 29/100th of a second

On the night, Dorchester posted the fast time of a rainy night from barrel four in the fourth heat. Dorchester’s PureChem Services outfit placed first on the day by just one-hundredth of a second over Motowylo, with Codey McCurrach, Logan Gorst and Chanse Vigen filling out the top five on the night.

The final day of the Grande Prairie Stompede can be heard live Sunday night, May 29, 2016 on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147 or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville starting at 9:30pm Eastern, 8:30pm Central, 7:30pm Mountain Time.

The WPCA finale is all part of the Grande Prairie Chuckwagon Heritage Foundation day of champions. The foundation is coughing up $125,000 towards the prize money.

Happy Trails RV is sponsoring the WPCA dash and Wapiti Gravel Suppliers the Western Chuckwagon Association dash.

Sean DeBolt (Vertex), Derek Aebley (Horizon Hauling), Dean Dreger (Ruskin Construction) and Rick McRorier (Shadow Rathole Drilling) are in the Wapiti dash.

The All Pro Chucks finale features Lee Adamson (A1 Supply), Keith Wood (All Peace Petroleum), Louis Johner (GP Optix) and Kevin Desjarlais (Grande Prairie Stompede).

There will be some cowboys and cowgirls hoping today’s competitors don’t have good days.

They include Luke Butterfield who leads Norlan Chrysler Saddle Bronc with an 85.8 on Smokin Hot; Ty Taypotat of Regina, SK who had an 86.5 on Tweety Bird; Jordan Hansen of Calgary who bounced to an 84.5 on Nailed; Rhen Richard of Roosvelt, UT and his 8.5 in Strad Tie Down Roping; Conley Max Inc. Steer Wrestling leader Cody Cassidy of Donalda, AB (3.9); GP Chrysler Barrel Racing leader Cranna Roberts of Lacombe, AB (16.054); Norlan Chrysler Team Roping top spot holders Garrett Rogers of Baker City, OR and Jacob Minor of Ellesburg, WA (4.9); Great Northern Casion Novice Bareback rider Lane Link of Maple Creek, SK (79.0); Expert Mobile Novice Saddle Bronc’s Ricky Warren of Hudsons Hope, BC  (79.0); and TNT Tank Rentals Steer Riding leader Luke Ferber of Irricana, AB (81.0).