Final Four Set For 40th

Obrey Motowylo, Layne MacGillivray, Rick Fraser or Ross Night will be $25,000 richer Sunday night.

Those four have qualified for the Grande Prairie Stompede Dash For Cash among drivers from the World Chuckwagon Association competing at the 40th Stompede.

Motowylo, driving the H & E Oilfield Services outfit, qualified for Sunday’s final in first place overall with a four-day combined time of 5:18.03 and will receive the Ralph Vigen Memorial Award for having the best aggregate time, and a year’s use of a brand new GMC Truck compliments of Summit Fleet.

MacGillivray qualified in second place overall, just seven-one-hundredths of a second behind the aggregate winner Motowylo with local favorite Rick Fraser jumping up 1th place overall after Friday into third place overall, with Ross Knight hanging on to fourth and final place in Sunday’s championship final.

The 2016 Ponoka Stampede Champion Colt Cosgrave missed out of the final four, finishing fifth overall and missing the championship final by just twenty-two-one-hundredths of a second. It will be the first championship final in a major chuckwagon event for Knight.

On the night, Fraser posted the fast time of a rainy night from barrel one in the sixth heat to earn his spot in the championship final. Fraser’s Direct Horizontal Drilling outfit placed first on the day by forty-three-one-hundredths of a second over Grande Prairie’s Mike Vigen, with Cody Ridsdale, Evan Salmond and Layne MacGillivray filling out the top five on the night.

The final day of the Stompede can be heard live Sunday night, June 4, 2017 on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147, 96.5 CKFM out of Olds, Alberta or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville, Alberta starting at 9:30pm Eastern, 8:30pm Central, 7:30pm Mountain Time.

In the Western Chuckwagon Association Dash For Cash it will be Derek Aebly (Horizon Hauling), Eric Rever (Deken Oilfield Transport), Kelly Somervile (Tire Pro Inc) and Ron Bolin (Smash & Sons Contracting).

Kevin Desjarlais (Pyramid Homes), Cole Adamson (Keddie’s Tack & Western Wear), Kolten Thiel (Lyons Production Services) and Curtis Hogg (Catwaulk Compression) will tangle in the All Pro dash.

Going into the final day of rodeo action the leaders are: Brandt Tractor Tie Down Roping – Randy Carlise, Athens, LA with a 7.9; Chinook Scaffolding Steer Wrestling – Dayton Roworth, Czar, AB with a 4.1; Elite Vac and Tank Team Roping – Cole Davidson/Cory Kidd, Stephenville/Statesville with a 3.9; GP Chrysler Ladies Barrels – Michelle McLeod of Whitesboro, TX with a 15.761; Norlan Chrysler Saddle Bronc – Clay Elliott, Nanton, AB with an 86; JDA Bull Riding – Beau Hill, West Glacier, MT with an 83.5; TNT Tank Rentals Bareback – Ky Marshall, Bowden, AB with an 87; Garry Wilson Trucking Novice Bareback – Danny Vandenameele, Lagnenberg, SK with a 76.5; Garry Wilson Trucking Novice Saddle Bronc – Tom Kerr, Maple Creek, SK with a 79; and Garry Wilson Trucking Junior Steer Riding – Luke Ferber, Irricana, AB with an 81.5.